Milk, a fair deal for farmers and cows?

Dairy farmer David Handley protesting against low wholesale milk prices in 2005. Photograph: Alamy

Milk has hit the news again as farmers complain about the low price they get. Milk is a classic example of how the ‘food industry’ has commoditised a product and allowed middle men and retailers to take the lions share of the retail price.

Marketing is now king, how else could milk be cheaper than water in some shops!

Unfortunately the milk industry is failing farmers, and consumers. Failing to give farmers a fair price and failing to give consumers a quality product and the story behind that product. Some kids don’t know that milk comes from cows.

Hook & Son Raw Milk

Hook & Son Raw Milk

When I say quality, yes, milk is safe, consistent, nicely packaged and available everywhere. But what a shame, that the number of UK dairy farmers has shrunk from 22,000 in 1990 to around 11,000, that all the milk from all the herds is mixed together, whether Jersey, free range, or intensive, and that all milk is pasteurised ruining its natural qualities.

When pasteurised milk goes off it is rancid, when raw milk goes off it can be made in to yoghurt or cheese. For more on this click here. To buy raw milk online click here.

What a shame that very few of us have a local dairy and can’t buy local milk and especially ‘raw’ un-pasteurised milk. Wouldn’t it be fantastic if every region or local area had its own milk. ‘Bedfordshire grass fed Jersey milk’, ‘Sussex Downs wild meadow Freisan raw Milk’ or even better local unbranded milk with the local farmer supplying everyone in a 10 mile radius.

Happy cows eating a natural feed

This could happen! Some farmers have already taken this bold step, despite heavy government regulations against selling raw milk.

What we need is many more farmers following suit, government help and, we the consumer, buying local milk when it becomes available.

With the right government help, (perhaps subsidies on automatic milking machines, better for farmers and cows) and enough consumers buying straight away, to reduce marketing costs and achieve economies of scales, local milk should be competitively priced, with all the money going back to the local farmer and community.

Intensive dairy farm

We consumers, with the help of lobbying organisations like the WSPA and Friends of the Earth, stopped the Nocton intensive dairy and can change the food industry by simply, and quickly, changing our shopping habits when a better local food or milk option comes along.

You can already switch to local food by using our local food map, and register for our post code specific newsletter to be kept informed on local food news in your area by clicking here.

Exciting times, we can make it happen.

16 responses to this post.

  1. Hello There. I found your blog using msn.

    This is a very well written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I will certainly return.

    Reply

  2. Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after reading through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyhow, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back often!

    Reply

  3. It’s genuinely very difficult in this active life to listen news on TV, so I only use internet for that reason, and take the hottest information.

    Reply

  4. I’m very pleased to find this great site. I need to to thank you for your time for this wonderful read!! I definitely appreciated every bit of it and I have you book-marked to see new things on your blog.

    Reply

  5. A person necessarily lend a hand to make critically posts I’d state. This is the first time I frequented your web page and so far? I surprised with the analysis you made to make this actual put up amazing. Magnificent task!

    Reply

  6. Having read this I thought it was extremely informative.

    I appreciate you spending some time and effort to put
    this information together. I once again find myself personally spending a significant amount of time
    both reading and leaving comments. But so what, it was still worth
    it!

    Reply

  7. If you desire to grow your know-how just keep
    visiting this web page and be updated with the latest information posted here.

    Reply

  8. A fascinating discussion is worth comment. I believe that you should publish more about this subject matter, it might not be a taboo matter
    but generally people do not talk about such subjects.
    To the next! Best wishes!!

    Reply

  9. I am truly pleased to glance at this weblog posts which
    includes tons of useful facts, thanks for providing such statistics.

    Reply

  10. It’s genuinely very complex in this full of activity life to listen news on TV, thus I simply use web for that purpose, and get the newest news.

    Reply

  11. This is very interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your rss feed and
    look forward to seeking more of your wonderful post. Also,
    I have shared your site in my social networks!

    Reply

  12. Hi, I think your website might be having browser compatibility issues.

    When I look at your blog site in Opera, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.

    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, terrific blog!

    Reply

  13. Thanks in support of sharing such a pleasant thinking, piece
    of writing is fastidious, thats why i have read it entirely

    Reply

  14. Hello to every body, it’s my first go to see of this webpage; this website contains remarkable and truly good information for visitors.

    Reply

  15. These are really enormous ideas in regarding blogging.

    You have touched some fastidious factors here. Any way keep up wrinting.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

